Automatic cleanup of messages
You are probably all aware of the fact that we automatically send out messages when the (IMDb) top lists have been updated or when you gain or lose an award. However, over time the total number of messages has become very large, thereby slowing the website and making maintenance more tedious.
To remedy this problem, we will be setting a limit on the number of days these messages will be available in your inbox. Don't worry, this limit is set to a comfortable 30 days. In effect, this means that any top list or award update message will automatically be deleted 30 days after it has been sent, even if you did not read it. This measure should make the website again a bit faster and make some feature changes easier for us in the future.
- 13 October, 2010
- 20 comments